About

The Grossglockner race –
a skiing race with tradition

Seven before there were prepared pistes and ski lifts in the Grossglockner/Heiligenblut ski resort, daring participants hurtled from the peak of Grossglockner down to the Pasterze glacier: the “Glockner Race” was held for the first time in 1933.

The Grossglockner/Heiligenblut ski resort was not made accessible to skiing enthusiasts until the year 1958 and the first lifts were installed.

The legendary ski race on the highest mountain in Austria established itself over the years and gained renown both nationally and internationally. The last official “Grossglockner Race” took place in 1967 and left a gap in the landscape of Austrian skiing events for ambitious skiers.

In the year 2018, 51 years after the last audacious racers conquered Glockner, this gap was filled again with the event “Glockner – The Race”. With an innovative concept, new awards and motivated athletes, the Grossglockner/Heiligenblut ski resort is once again the venue for a unique skiing event.

Not only fame and honour await the winners, along with a challenge cup in the category “group award”, but also attractive material prizes!

The competition

“Glockner – The Race” – an overview

Event

  • Two peaks – two descents
  • Two athletes form a team
  • Two teams can form a group
  • Themed outfit (optional)
  • Motto 2018/2019 for the outfit: “Carnival”

Awards

  • Team award
  • Best outfit
  • Best group (challenge cup)

Conditions

  • Minimum age: 18 years
  • Good physical condition
  • Good skiing ability

Entry fee

  • 29 € without day ski pass
  • 49 € with day ski pass

Registration

Über

Das Großglockner-Rennen –
ein Skirennen mit Tradition

Schon bevor es im Skigebiet Großglockner/Heiligenblut präparierte Pisten und Skilifte gab, stürzten sich wagemutige Teilnehmer vom Gipfel des Großglockners hinunter bis zum Pasterzen-Gletscher: 1933 startete erstmals das „Großglockner-Rennen“.

Erst ab dem Jahr 1958 wurde das Skigebiet Großglockner/Heiligenblut für Skisportfans zugänglich gemacht und es entstanden die ersten Lifte.

Das legendäre Skirennen am höchsten Berg Österreichs etablierte sich über all die Jahre und war sowohl national als auch international bekannt. 1967 fand das letzte offizielle „Großglockner-Rennen“ statt und hinterließ eine Lücke in der Landschaft der österreichischen Skisport-Events für ambitionierte Skifahrer.

Im Jahr 2018, 51 Jahre nachdem die letzten waghalsigen Rennläufer den Glockner bezwungen haben, wird mit dem Event „Der Glockner – Das Rennen“ diese Lücke wieder gefüllt. Mit einem innovativen Konzept, neuen Bewertungen und motivierten Athletinnen und Athleten wird das Skigebiet Großglockner/Heiligenblut abermals Austragungsort eines einzigartigen Skisport-Events.

Auf die Gewinnerinnen und Gewinner warten nicht nur Ruhm und Ehre und ein Wanderpokal in der Kategorie „Gruppenwertung“ sondern auch attraktive Sachpreise!

Der Bewerb

„Der Glockner – Das Rennen“ im Überblick

Event

  • Zwei Gipfel – zwei Abfahrten
  • Zwei Athleten bilden ein Team
  • Zwei Teams können eine Gruppe bilden
  • Outfit zu einem Thema eines Athleten (optional)
  • Motto 2018/2019 für das Outfit: „Fasching“

Bewertungen

  • Teamwertung
  • Bestes Outfit
  • Beste Gruppe (Wanderpokal)

Voraussetzungen

  • Mindestalter: 18 Jahre
  • Gute körperliche Verfassung
  • Gutes skifahrerisches Können

Startgeld

  • 29 € Nenngeld ohne Tagesskipass
  • 49 € Nenngeld mit Tagesskipass

Anmeldung